

G/SG/N/10/IDN/20/Suppl.1 G/SG/N/11/IDN/17

8 October 2018

Original: English

(18-6196) Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

(Ceramic flags and paving, hearth or wall tiles)

The following communication, dated 5 October 2018, is being circulated at the request of the Delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Article 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies the issuance of Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 119/PMK.010/2018 dated 19 September 2018, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Number 1321 on 21 September 2018 regarding the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of ceramic flags and paving, hearth or wall tiles, for a period of 3 (three) years started on 12 October 2018 (the document can be found in website: http://kppi.kemendag.go.id/asset/direktori/produk/PMK%20Pengenaan%20BMTP%20Ubin%20Keramik%20tahun%202018.pdf).

1 GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 16 July 2018 the Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of safeguard investigation in which it was concluded that there was an evidence that the increased of volume of imports have caused threat of serious injury to the domestic industry concerned in this investigation (G/SG/N/8/IDN/20-G/SG/N/10/IDN/20).

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia the imposition of a safeguard measure on the importation of the subject goods.

2 DESCRIPTION OF THE SUBJECT GOODS

The description of the subject goods are as follows:

"Ceramic flags and paving, hearth or wall tiles, under Harmonized System (HS.) Codes: 6907.21.91, 6907.21.92, 6907.21.93, 6907.21.94, 6907.22.91, 6907.22.92, 6907.22.93, 6907.22.94, 6907.23.91, 6907.23.92, 6907.23.93, 6907.23.94"

3 DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED MEASURE

a. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duty:

TIMETABLE OF THE SAFEGUARD DUTY

Period		Safeguard Duty
First year	(12 October 2018 – 11 October 2019)	23%
Second year	(12 October 2019 – 11 October 2020)	21%
Third year	(12 October 2020 – 11 October 2021)	19%

b. Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measure, and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to modify this list in light of changing import volumes.

LIST OF DEVELOPING COUNTRIES EXCLUDED FROM THE MEASURES

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
1	Afganistan	27	Côte d'Ivoire
2	Albania	28	Cuba
3	Angola	29	Democratic Republic of the Congo
4	Antigua and Barbuda	30	Djibouti
5	Argentina	31	Dominica
6	Armenia	32	Dominican Republic
7	Bahrain, Kingdom of	33	Ecuador
8	Bangladesh	34	Egypt
9	Barbados	35	El Salvador
10	Belize	36	Fiji
11	Benin	37	Gabon
12	Bolivia, Plurinational State of	38	Gambia
13	Botswana	39	Georgia
14	Brazil	40	Ghana
15	Brunei Darussalam	41	Grenada
16	Burkina Faso	42	Guatemala
17	Burundi	43	Guinea
18	Cape Verde	44	Guinea-Bissau
19	Cambodia	45	Guyana
20	Cameroon	46	Haiti
21	Central African Republic	47	Honduras
22	Chad	48	Hong Kong, China
23	Chile	49	India
24	Colombia	50	Israel
25	Congo	51	Jamaica
26	Costa Rica	52	Jordan

No.	Countries	No.	Countries
53	Kazakhstan	90	Russian Federation
54	Kenya	91	Rwanda
55	Korea, Republic of	92	Saint Kitts and Nevis
56	Kuwait, the State of	93	Saint Lucia
57	Kyrgyz Republic	94	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
58	Lao People's Democratic Republic	95	Samoa
59	Lesotho	96	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of
60	Liberia	97	Senegal
61	Liechtenstein	98	Seychelles
62	Macao, China	99	Sierra Leone
63	Madagascar	100	Singapore
64	Malawi	101	Solomon Islands
65	Malaysia	102	South African
66	Maldives	103	Sri Lanka
67	Mali	104	Suriname
68	Mauritania	105	Swaziland
69	Mauritius	106	Chinese Taipei
70	Mexico	107	Tajikistan
71	Moldova, Republic of	108	Tanzania
72	Mongolia	109	Thailand
73	Montenegro	110	The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
74	Morocco	111	Togo
75	Mozambique	112	Tonga
76	Myanmar	113	Trinidad and Tobago
77	Namibia	114	Tunisia
78	Nepal	115	Turkey
79	Nicaragua	116	Uganda
80	Niger	117	Ukraine
81	Nigeria	118	United Arab Emirates
82	Oman	119	Uruguay
83	Pakistan	120	Vanuatu
84	Panama	121	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
85	Papua New Guinea	122	Viet Nam
86	Paraguay	123	Yemen
87	Peru	124	Zambia
88	Philippines	125	Zimbabwe
89	Qatar		

It is requested that this notification under Article 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards be brought to the notice of Members.